Knutsford Primary AcademyInspiring our children to be happy, successful learners and responsible citizens
February 2 2015

Religious Education


Religious Education is taught throughout the school in accordance with the Hertfordshire Agreed Syllabus.

Our RE curriculum encourages children to analyse and evaluate their own beliefs, values and practices while also developing their sense of identity and belonging, preparing them for life as citizens in modern day Britain.

The curriculum focuses on the following eight key areas of learning:

  1. Belief and practices
  2. Sources of wisdom
  3. Symbols and actions
  4. Prayer, worship and reflection
  5. Identity and belonging
  6. Ultimate questions
  7. Human responsibility and values
  8. Justice and fairness

We do not seek to impose religious beliefs on children, nor to compromise the integrity of their own beliefs, by promoting one religion over another. Through the teaching of RE, children will acquire knowledge and understanding of the main religious and non-religious worldviews represented in Great Britain, in particular, Christianity, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism and Humanism, and how these worldviews influence individuals, communities, society and the world.

Click below for information about the RE curriculum in Years 1 – 6